Wednesday, September 5, 2012

A Fractured Light (A Beautiful Dark #2) by Jocelyn Davies: review

Goodreads rating: 4.18

Hardcover352 pages

Expected publication: September 25th 2012 by HarperTeen

Source: ARC from ALA

When she wakes up in unfamiliar surroundings, Skye knows something terrible has happened to her. But it's not until she hears Asher, the dark, rebellious angel she fell in love with, that the memories come flooding back. She tries to put the past behind her, but she knows she'll be forever haunted by the ruthless betrayal that almost took her life.

Skye returns home, but with the knowledge of who she really is, nothing can ever be the same. As she tests the limits of her newfound powers, Skye discovers that she's capable of far more than anyone could have imagined. Both the Order and the Rebellion want her for their side as war between the factions looms. She can't forget the terrifying truth she now knows about the Order, but something holds her back from embracing the Rebellion. 

A Fractured Light picks up right after A Beautiful Dark's shocking cliffhanger ending and is perfect for fans of Lauren Kate's Fallen and Becca Fitzpatrick's Hush, Hush saga.


I reread my review for the first book, and it was actually one of the first books that I actually got for review and then reviewed here on the blog. And the review was not as accurate as I would have liked. This isn't one of my favorite series, and definitely not up there in my top angel series. But I have to admit that this one was just as good as the first one. There was still a lot of mystery, despite it being a sequel. We're still not sure what side Skye should be on and who she can trust anymore. On the subject of Skye, I don't think she's always the best heroine. She is amazingly selfish at times. I know that the whole prophecy is about her, but her friends know nothing about this other world that she's suddenly a huge part of and they have every right to be annoyed with her. But Skye isn't the only one that's keeping secrets. She finds out more about her parents and her past in this book, and Aunt Jo is keeping a secret. She's not who we were led to believe, and apparently Raven, Devin's "girlfriend" isn't either.

Devin is definitely not my favorite person in this one because of his betrayal at the end of A Beautiful Dark. But he obviously still cares for Skye, even with Raven's influence on him. And she can't even trust him because the Guardians have control over him. I actually started to feel bad for Devin because he really can't control what the Guardians want him to do. But there is another option... Asher was fiercely protective and sexy as always, but he was really pushing Skye to completely commit to the Rebels, and I started getting suspicious of him. And Ian was there, so I feel like it's still kind of a love square. I'm actually kind of team Ian now; he's the only one that hasn't disappointed Sky, although he starts to when he begins sort of dating Skye's high school nemesis. I'll be really interested to see where the romance goes with the way this one ended. Like I said, team Ian. Think about it.

I guess one of my biggest pet peeves with this series is that I'm not particularly fond of Davies' writing style. I feel like I get confused sometimes as to what's going on. Skye's big moment of revelation didn't feel like one to me, and thinking back they never have. We just get a jumble of emotions that I can't piece together, and all of a sudden she's so sure of herself and is making heavy decisions. But I have to admit, that was a very interesting twist at the end, and I wonder what it means for Sky, the Guardians, the Rebels, and all those with angel blood. This could change everything. I feel like I haven't enough of a review, but in truth, there's nothing truly remarkable about this series. It's fun to read, and there's a lot of drama, but I've never once felt blown away by it. Still, I can't wait to see what the third book holds!


Photobucket

No comments:

Post a Comment

I always appreciate comments and cherish every one of them. THIS IS AN AWARD-FREE ZONE. I don't have the time to fulfill the requirements for the awards, but thank you so much for thinking of me. I just ask for no vulgarity, and if you have any issues with my reviews or writing style, please e-mail me instead of commenting. Now, vent to your heart's content!

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Disclaimer

According to FTC guidelines, I'm obligated to share with you that all of the books that I review on my blog are either purchased by me or given to me by an author/publisher. All of the opinions expressed in my reviews are mine and I do not receive any sort of monetary goods for writing either good or bad reviews.