Wednesday, February 29, 2012

Cover Poison: Starling, A Fractured Light, and Promised

Yep, you guessed it. More covers to reveal! First is a new series by Lesley Livingston.


"Love is just the beginning... of the end."

Mason Starling is a champion fencer for Gosforth Academy, but she’s never had to fight for her life. Until now. When a ferocious storm rips through Manhattan and unleashes terrifying creatures onto Gosforth’s campus, Mason barely escapes alive. Without help from the mysterious stranger who appeared in the midst of the storm, she might not have made it at all. But now, in the aftermath, Mason’s life begins to spin dramatically, mystically out of control, and the only one who seems able to help her is the stranger who can remember nothing but his name: Fennrys Wolf.

As Mason and Fenn uncover more about Fenn’s past and the strange events that surround them, they realize that Mason’s family — and its dark allegiance to the ancient Norse gods — is at the center of everything. A predetermined fate seems to be closing in on Mason, but is it possible to change one’s destiny?

Readers who fell in love with Lesley Livingston’s Wondrous Strange trilogy and those who love Cassandra Clare’s Mortal Instruments series will be captivated by the sweeping romance and pulse-pounding action of Starling.

My thoughts: Well to be honest, the premise makes me nervous because my book is based off of Norse mythology, but it's also completely different. This is definitely forcing me to get into gear though to start researching and querying agents soon! But I love the cover. I haven't read her other series, Wondrous Strange, yet but I love those covers too.

Next is the sequel to A Beautiful Dark.


 When she wakes up in unfamiliar surroundings, Skye knows something terrible has happened to her. But it’s not until she hears Asher, the dark, rebellious angel she fell in love with, that the memories of Devin and his shocking betrayal come flooding back.

Skye returns home, but with the knowledge of who she really is, nothing can ever be the same. As she tests the limits of her newfound powers, Skye discovers that she’s capable of far more than anyone could have imagined. Both the Order and the Rebellion want her for their side as war between the factions looms. She can’t forgive the Order for nearly killing her, but something holds her back from embracing the Rebellion.

A Fractured Light picks up right after A Beautiful Dark‘s shocking cliffhanger ending and is perfect for fans of Lauren Kate’s Fallen and Becca Fitzpatrick’s Hush, Hush saga.

My thoughts: I enjoyed the first book in this series, and that had an amazing cover as well! We were left on a crazy cliffhanger, so I'm really excited to see where this series is going. Here's that first cover:


Lastly is the cover for the final book in the Birthmarked series.


 Gaia Stone has challenged the ruthless regime of the Enclave, she's crossed a terrible wasteland to live in Sylum and even adapted to their strange new ways. But now she faces her biggest challenge ever: leading the people of Sylum back to the Enclave in the hopes that they can find a way to peacefully co-exist. The Enclave has grown even more cruel in the time they've been away, and now Gaia has the added burden of feeling responsible for the safety of the former residents of Sylum as well as her own. Gaia's always been strong-minded, but is she willing to pay the price of being a leader? And what if what's at stake is her and Leon's future?



My thoughts: I love this cover! It's better than the first two by a long shot. To be honest, I hope this is the last book. While I like this series, it's certainly not my favorite dystopian and so I'm gunning for the final book and a satisfying ending. Here are the covers for the first two books:



What do you guys think of these covers? Love them? Hate them? Let me know in the comments section!

No comments:

Post a Comment

I always appreciate comments and cherish every one of them. THIS IS AN AWARD-FREE ZONE. I don't have the time to fulfill the requirements for the awards, but thank you so much for thinking of me. I just ask for no vulgarity, and if you have any issues with my reviews or writing style, please e-mail me instead of commenting. Now, vent to your heart's content!

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Disclaimer

According to FTC guidelines, I'm obligated to share with you that all of the books that I review on my blog are either purchased by me or given to me by an author/publisher. All of the opinions expressed in my reviews are mine and I do not receive any sort of monetary goods for writing either good or bad reviews.