Thursday, September 1, 2011

Cold Kiss by Amy Garvey: review

Goodreads rating: 3.72
Hardcover: 304 pages 
Publisher: HarperTeen (September 20, 2011) 
ISBN: 978-0061996221

“It seemed so right. Danny was mine, I was his, and that wasn’t going to work if he was dead. So I would make him not dead, not anymore. I didn’t think any further than what it would feel like to kiss him again, to wrap my arms around him and bury my head against his shoulder.
That was my first mistake. It also turned out to be the biggest.”


When her boyfriend, Danny, is killed in a car accident, Wren can’t imagine living without him. Wild with grief, she uses the untamed powers she’s inherited to bring him back. But the Danny who returns is just a shell of the boy she once loved.

Wren has spent four months keeping Danny hidden, while her life slowly unravels around her. Then Gabriel DeMarnes transfers to her school and somehow, inexplicably, he can sense her secret. Wren finds herself drawn to Gabriel, who is so much more alive than the ghost of the boy she loved. But Wren can’t turn her back on Danny or the choice she made for him—and she realizes she must find a way to make things right, even if it means breaking her own heart.

Amy Garvey’s transcendent teen debut is perfect for fans of Shiver and Beautiful Creatures. Wren’s unforgettable voice and story will stay with readers long after the last page is turned.



*A special thanks to HarperCollins for the chance to review this wonderful novel.*

3.5/5

Cold kiss was unique, I'll give it that. It really made me think: what would I do if my boyfriend died and I had the ability to bring him back? How emotionally unstable would I have to be to even consider it? It's possible, I realize. This was almost like a bunch of diary entries. I felt I could really relate to Wren and shared in her pain. This is one of those books that you read if you want to sober up and dive into something serious. It has some comic relief, but sometimes I even felt stressed reading it, wondering how she was going to fix things with Danny, her dead boyfriend, especially since she was starting to have feelings for the sexy protective Gabriel. I think Gabriel was the best part of the book; I loved his character and the way Wren reacted to him. The friendships and family relationships were also one of the most important themes in this book, and I think that's why I liked it.

I wish the paranormal part had been more delved into. Wren talked about researching her power, but we never really got to see any of it. I would have loved to know what kind of power she held, if her all the women in her family were witches or something else entirely. And maybe even the situation with the father could have been at least confronted. There were so many loose ends by the time it was over, and I felt like all that mattered was Gabriel when there had been so much else going on

I think my main issue was that the narrator was very distant, and it was hard to tell if she was talking about the present or living the in past at times. The beginning wasn't as interesting to me, probably because Wren wasn't doing much. The descriptions were seriously lacking and I could never really put myself into the story, which is something I love doing.

Overall, a pleasant enough read. It was slow-going, but once Cold Kiss captivated my attention, it held on tight.

1 comment:

  1. Nice review! I actually won this book but haven't gotten a chance to read it yet but I definitely will soon :)

    ReplyDelete

I always appreciate comments and cherish every one of them. THIS IS AN AWARD-FREE ZONE. I don't have the time to fulfill the requirements for the awards, but thank you so much for thinking of me. I just ask for no vulgarity, and if you have any issues with my reviews or writing style, please e-mail me instead of commenting. Now, vent to your heart's content!

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Disclaimer

According to FTC guidelines, I'm obligated to share with you that all of the books that I review on my blog are either purchased by me or given to me by an author/publisher. All of the opinions expressed in my reviews are mine and I do not receive any sort of monetary goods for writing either good or bad reviews.